PokerGO Tour Championship title will be awarded in $500,000 winner-take-all invitational

PokerGO Tour Championship title will be awarded in $500,000 winner-take-all invitational

PokerGO has announced that this year’s PokerGO Tour will end with the PGT Championship. The event will be held in the PokerGO studio at the Aria where the top 21 players on the PGT Player of the Year Leaderboard will be invited to play. PokerGO are putting up a $500,000 dollar first prize as well as the title PGT Champion.

This is a winner-take-all event, so second place is just first of the losers and will take home $0 for their troubles.

“The PGT is the battleground for the most elite poker players in the world,” Mori Eskandani, President of
PokerGO, said. “And it is only right that we honor the best of the best in extraordinary fashion. We are proud to award the 2022 PGT season champion with a $500,000 prize as we continue to celebrate the most talented players our game has to offer.”

The winner will also be crowned the PGT Champion. The PGT Champion title is distinct from the PGT Player of the Year title which carries its own cash prize and is based purely on the leaderboard points.

The event will start with three tables of seven players each. The event will then switch to six-max for the final table.

The PGT Championship final table will be broadcast live, as usual, on PokerGO with a possible free broadcast on Youtube.

The date for this broadcast has not yet been set.

Current leaderboard standings

Although there is still a long way to go in the 2022 PGT Tour, the current standing have Nick Petrangelo topping out the leaderboard by a decent margin.

You can see the current top 21 players on the PokerGO Tour leaderboard below:

PostionPlayer NameCountryPOY PointsWinsCashes1stNick PetrangeloUSA1,066342ndSean PerryUSA859273rdAli ImsirovicBosnia and Hertzegovina840384thJeremy AusmusUSA658145thBrock WilsonUSA636066thDaniel NegreanuCanada576257thAlex FoxenUSA498178thJake SchindlerUSA485279thCary KatzUSA4831510thSean WinterUSA4390711thJoseph CheongUSA4320212thMichael WangUSA3941313thDarren EliasUSA3470614thJonathan JaffeUSA3441115thBill KleinUSA3360316thDaniel ColpoysUSA3211217thNick SchulmanUSA2990418thJake DanielsUSA2861219thPunnat PunsriThailand2512220thChris BrewerUSA2100321stIvan ZuficCroatia19811

Featured image source: PokerGO

Author: Brandy Lawrence